PDA

View Full Version : New board? LF Watson Classic?

txduckman07
06-11-2012, 08:57 PM
I've decided it's time for a new board setup. I've been using eBay specials for the past 10 years. Finally had an opportunity to go to a board shop today. I really like the Watson Classic with Vantage bindings. I currently ride a Hyperlite 3DS 139 with Ronix Scout bindings. I'm sold on the Velcro closure bindings...after the Scouts I was done with laces...mainly because of ease of exit. Currently I would classify myself as a comfortable W2W rider looking to progress to some spins and later inverts. I need some help deciding on board length as the 19-year-old in the pro shop was less than helpful. LF lists the 134 for 100-180 lbs. 138 for 140-225. I am currently 5'10" 165 lbs. (ideally 155 if that matters). I feel like my 139 Hyperlite is a bit heavy, but that may have more to do with the model than the length. Obviously my weight falls in the range of either size. What are the advantages of shorter/lighter vs. longer/slightly heavier? Any input is appreciated.

bzubke1
06-11-2012, 09:10 PM
Just started riding a Liquid Force harley 139. Absoloutely loving it! I came from a watson 143 which I really liked too, but the harley just pops me more straight up than the watson does. I'm pretty much 100% wake to wake very rarely take anything into the flats, so the board suits me well. Spins have also become easier, now I'm not sure if that is due to the board change or the smaller/lighter board.

tnbrooks01
06-11-2012, 09:39 PM