PDA

View Full Version : Props

motosno963
05-15-2012, 04:06 PM
im new to the whole props and what one does what..i have my 04 outback and all we do on it is wakeboard and tube..no skiing. Soo i want to set it up the best i can with some sacs and a better prop (if i have to) is there a better prop? or should i leave it stock?

Salyers
05-15-2012, 04:12 PM
I have an Acme 913 for sale in classified section. That's what the people at nettles props told me I needed of wakeboarding/surfing. No sure if it would fit and outback though. I got it for my 09 LS but never put it on because I got a Mojo.

Hoopskier
05-15-2012, 04:44 PM
I'll throw in my .02

I have 2 props for my outback. Both props are OJ Legends, which are cast. The newer props are CNC machined which are more accurate to the specs. Both of my props are 13x13. One prop is 3 blade, the other is 4 blade. I have a preference to my 3 blade.

The 3 blade is a decent for about everything. Skiing, wakeboarding, tubing. I find my 3 blade is more fuel efficient. If you run a heavy boat most of the time, it can be a little slow on the start. I run some ballast (800#) sometimes, and still use this prop.

The 4 blade, is better for a the heavy boat. Better out of the hole. Holds slower speeds better. Uses more fuel. Little top end loss.

Purchased my boat used with 4 blade. I put a 3 blade on. Kept the 4 blade as a spare. I have switch back and forth between props and always end up back at my 3 blade. I know there are other props, the newer CNC props the are probably better all around than what I have.

motosno963
05-15-2012, 05:37 PM
ok i was just wondering bacause i see alot of people on here talk about acme props and others..i didnt know if like there was a different pitch on some and that made a better wake or do something else that would help the boat out to make wakeboarding better

jpetty3023
05-15-2012, 11:16 PM