PDA

View Full Version : Good deal, good boat?

wakeflip
02-09-2012, 10:53 AM
Found a 2004 mobius xlv for $22k It's got 1220 hours but looks to be pretty clean and well maintained. I'm a mechanic so I'm not too worried about maintance. I'll service the whole boat before I start the season. Is this a good buy at this price, and does it make a good wake for wakeboarding?

bkearney
02-09-2012, 11:11 AM
What else does it have?

wakeflip
02-09-2012, 11:28 AM
Triple ballast, perfect pass, cd player, two Tower speakers, new interior, everything but the Bimini

KSmith
02-09-2012, 01:49 PM
He's ALIVE!!

Where have you been hiding?

wakeflip
02-09-2012, 02:03 PM
Lol I sold my blue moomba cause I made a big profit off it, and was planning on buying another one right after. Lots of things happened and held me back. But, finally back on my feet and hopefully picking up this xlv tomorrow morning. If that goes well I'll be throwing on the wet suit and seeing what kinda wake it puts out.

KSmith
02-09-2012, 02:10 PM
Welcome back, good to see your still kickin! Where are you going to dunk it if you get it?

wakeflip
02-09-2012, 02:24 PM
I'll be kickin until my legs fall off. Hopefully Altoona if there is any water. I'm not even going to risk trying Jackson lake. Too many stumps.

KSmith
02-09-2012, 02:44 PM
Allatoona is about 9 feet under full. Not ideal but certainly doable, just stear clear of the more shallow parts.

Launch at blockhouse and head towards the dam, no worries. Well a little tight by McKinney but again doable.

Edit: The dock at blockhouse is at the edge of the water so not usable yet, but if you don't mind wading out to the boat after launch then no worries.

wakeflip
02-09-2012, 03:50 PM
Exactly what I wanted to hear. Gonna be a cold run but sounds like I'll be out.

bzubke1
02-09-2012, 04:16 PM
Sounds like a pretty good deal and since your a mechanic if the rings start to go and lose compression i'm sure you can rebuild it or get a new short block pretty cheap.