PDA

View Full Version : Drillmaster worth it?

bkearney
01-05-2012, 07:34 PM
I have a coupon for HarbourFreight and I was looking at their 7in polisher/sander. I only need it to try and clean up some oxidation on the boat. However, I am a bit leary of spending any money on a cheap tool.

Anyone have experience with these?

Thanks in advance.

-- bk

bergermaister
01-05-2012, 07:50 PM
I have a DrillMaster angle grinder that I use cutoff wheels on and have ran the hell out of it the last couple years. Has held up as good as my Craftsman angle grinder that I use for grinding. If it's something you'll only use once or twice a year it may be worth the gamble going cheap. If it's more a more regularly used tool it's worth it to spend a little extra IMO. I can't complain though.

newty
01-05-2012, 08:02 PM
If its the orange chicago tool... run! I bought one, plugged it in, and it started smoking. I returned it and got another one. I pulled this one a part first and found the wires were in the same position as the last. Right against a moving part. I moved the wires around and it worked but it's always sounded like it was going to fall a part at any moment. Spend the extra money and buy a good one. Look on Craigslist for used ones. There are always good tools on craigslist.

muehlcj
01-05-2012, 10:04 PM
I can’t speak about the quality of the tool in question. I did however purchase the Meguiar’s Professional Dual Action Polisher http://www.meguiarsdirect.com/product_detail.do?q=4821 as well as their Fiberglass Restoration System http://www.meguiarsdirect.com/product_detail.do?q=4671. I used it this fall and the results were amazing. I have a 2006 Outback and when I was finished it looked like it just came out of the showroom. I didn’t have any previous experience with polishers or products before this. Hope this helps. I was extremely worried/nervous that I would end up with swirling but I took it slow and it really worked out great!

kaneboats
01-06-2012, 12:11 PM