PDA

View Full Version : Pulling the plug on an LSV

helix_rider
05-16-2005, 10:26 PM
Okay, so I feel like I am abusing the board asking all these questions...but you guys are just so dang helpful :p

I have an LSV...I only have 12 hours on it, but I have never 'pulled' the plug. Do you LSV owners out there get a wrench and take it off after every trip to the lake? I've never had water enter over the sides/bow, so I figure the amount of water in there must be small, but I'm new to boating and didn't know the proper procedures. My friends with a d/d take the plug out every time they go...is it a 'must' or a 'smart thing' to do, or do I need to mess with it?

Thanks for bearing with the newbie :)

smokedog2
05-17-2005, 07:08 AM
Every time, rain or shine. Pull it and be amazed at all the water. Don’t pull it and green stuff will start to grow in very hard to clean places.

SD2

MEDIC151
05-17-2005, 09:26 AM
Pull it everytime. With people getting in and out of the water, you will be amazed at the amount that makes it to the bilge and your pump will not get all of it out. Personally, I open all compartments as well to help with evaporation and slow the mildew. Makes for easier cleaning.

seanpatsdad
05-17-2005, 10:45 AM
Pull it for sure.Also when you are out on the water open up the engine cover and look around for leaks.Just cause it is new does not mean you don't have leaks.My ballst system had a couple of loose fittings that were leaking.Anyway ,I use a 1/2 inch size crows foot on a ratchet with an extension to pull the plug.
John

clark
05-17-2005, 10:57 AM
Pull it man,,,, pull it.

I always remove mine so that air can circulate in there and help dry things out, especially since every time I go to the lake I have kids climbing in and out of the water. Just make since to me.

Hey seanpatsdad, what the heck is a crows foot. What does it look like. I always use a 9/16 wrench. Definitely got to easier with a socket.

Clark

clark
05-17-2005, 10:59 AM