PDA

View Full Version : My new tow rig

TL7
11-13-2011, 03:22 PM
Denali with my LSV. Got tired of the constant gear searching with the 5.3L Tahoe with 4 speed tranny. The 6.2L with the 6 speed is night and day different. Of course I assume my gas bill will be night and day different too, but not in a good way!

Mikey
11-13-2011, 05:12 PM
Not sure about that, But as a work van i had a chev 2500 with the 6 liter . Way more power than current 2500.with the 4.8 Gutless piece of crap motor i currently drive now and gas mileage was Way better with the big motor. Oh did i mention I hate the current van?
I'm a plumber and we run reasonably stocked ,so we usually run Heavy and the big motor ,didn't have to work as hard. When we load up its even worse. Now granted its a different motor and we won't go to driving an empty truck like you likely will when not towing, but its likely if you drive NICE. It should be way better on gas than you think.

rdlangston13
11-13-2011, 08:49 PM
so thats pretty much the same drive train as an escalade?

TL7
11-13-2011, 08:51 PM
Yep - basically an Escalade for poor folks.

brain_rinse
11-13-2011, 09:41 PM
Awesome, love the white! I did the same thing, went from the 5.3 to the 6.2. While it was a huge upgrade, for me the bigger improvement was going from a 4 to a 6 speed transmission. I wonder how the newer 5.3s with 6 speeds do...

TL7
11-13-2011, 10:05 PM