PDA

View Full Version : surf wave advice wanted- with photo

Boonejeepin
09-30-2011, 12:16 AM
Any advice on speed, weighting, wakeplate, etc... would be appreciated.

2010 XLV
1100 (mostly full) in the surfside v drive
factory 650 in the floor locker
400 (mostly full) on the surfside under the side seat/port side dash area
600 (not all the way full) movable ballast on the surfside floor as far back as possible
~10mph
wakeplate almost all the way up

1 driver and a few young kids that do not weigh much at all.

I am a wakesurf newbie. First time was about 2 months ago.

Boonejeepin
09-30-2011, 12:36 AM
adding a video as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKDz5BA2UHU

08LSV
09-30-2011, 06:25 AM
That wave looks pretty good to me. But then again I like any wave that will carry me, even the white water. We are running almost the same weight, but our boat is an LSV and smaller so I'm guessing yours would produce a larger wake if they were both empty or weighted the same.

We run run 1100 rear surf side
400 center locker
650 bow
400 under starboard seats (Old long 600 bag not filled all the way.)
Couple of peeps in da boat.
Wake Plate 1/2 way (We have tried it in all positions but it works best for us at 1/2 way.)

Boonejeepin
09-30-2011, 09:31 AM
I am wondering if it would be worth putting the extra 400 v drive locker bag that I have in the bow on the surf side. I guess I will just have to try it and see if it works.

It seems as if the wakeplate being all the way up made the wave taller and not as long but had much stronger push.

I am crossing my fingers for a few more boating days this year to keep playing with the setup.

cab13367
09-30-2011, 09:52 AM
Yes, some weight in front would extend the pocket. You might also try going a little faster, say 10.5 or 10.8 since you are running a lot of weight. That will also lengthen the pocket but will probably make the height of the wave a little shorter.