PDA

View Full Version : 2005 Moomba Outback - won't start

orlando moomba
09-25-2011, 04:07 PM
I have a 2005 Moomba Outback and it won't start. I turn the key and it cranks, it just wont catch and actually run. The wheels & belts spin but it won't run. It's had the issues since I purchased it a couple months ago. I had the boat shipped from the state of Washington to Orlando. The previous owner said he had no problems starting it. The first time, I filled up the gas and then took the engine cover off, blew into the top and it started. The second time, I pushed in the button on the bottom of the throttle lever and pushed it forward back and forth. Then it started. This time neither will work. And ive also left the direct drive cover off for a half hour, ran the blower, and still wont work. What do you think the problem is?

I read somewhere about vapor lock and putting cold water on the fuel pump. Where is the fuel pump? Can someone take a picture of it if you think that's the problem. Also, someone said to check the fuel filter but I can't find it. Not sure what the problem is. It is a carb engine. Please help.

moombadaze
09-25-2011, 04:19 PM
need a little info.

its spinning over-so the battery is ok, starter is ok.

now, do you have spark?

and how about a kill cord-once happened to me it looked like it was ok but I killed a battery trying to start a boat one time only to have my wife push it all the way on and she started right up and ran perfect

and is it carb or efi?

at this point its really not that hot out to cause vapor lock

orlando moomba
09-26-2011, 08:18 AM
Yes, the battery seems to be working and the belts spin. The starter cranks. Not sure about a spark. Where would I look for that? I checked the safety switch. I pulled it off and on. That doesn't seem to be the problem. It is a carb NOT EFI.

Stazi
09-26-2011, 08:47 AM