PDA

View Full Version : Help please

pullmyfingers
04-18-2005, 09:16 PM
Okay my friends, I am a total slalom novice and need some help. This weekend the wife and I were able to get in the water to ski here in Alabama- cold but not too bad. I am pretty good on the water with 2 skis. I enjoy crossing back and forth across the wake and especially seeing how fast I can go without having a total yard sale. I tried to slalom for the first time in a while and had no luck. I started out dropping a ski, I was able to stay up on one for about 100 yards while dragging my foot in the water- as soon as I tried to put my foot in- face plant. Strategy #2- start off with one ski- that didn't work either. I told my wife to punch it and I thought I tore the calluses right off my hands even with gloves on. Questions:
1) How fast do I need to be moving if I drop a ski- I was going 30mph.
2) How much weight should I have on my front foot vs. Back foot? I ski rff
3) How much throttle should be applied when coming out of the water on 1 ski?
FYI- I am 6'0 and weigh 195. I think that might make a difference.

hydro
04-18-2005, 11:04 PM
Thanks Inliner

I have been teaching kids to ski for a few years and you did a great job telling how it is done. I have printed it out to help me remeber how you put it all.

Dave A
04-19-2005, 02:02 PM