PDA

View Full Version : Bad Rattle on Steering when pulling up boarder

LyndonH Dubai
06-17-2011, 03:37 AM
I have an extremely bad rattle on the steering when I first pull a wakeboarder out of the water.
it happens frequently, especailly with the more 'robust' boarders.
If i let the wheel turn through my fingers and boat is turning it eases the rattle, but if I hold the wheel firmly, it rattles and shakes a bit too
a mechanic (who wasnt really the best so didnt trust him at all!) once said to me that there is a steering channel in the boat and its the two metal sections hitting each other, and this is located under the engine. he said the only way to rectfy this was to change the old channel for a new one - and wait for it - the whole engine has to be removed to do this?
now im no expert on this boat, but surely that cannot be right?
does any one else have this issue or have had it and any ideas how it can be fixed??
its so annoying and everyone who comes on the boat comments on it?
please help and this is driving me nuts!
(the boat is a Moomba 2004 XLV gravity games edition.
cheers

mmandley
06-17-2011, 08:42 AM
My first thought is check all the connections under the dash.

My first repair would be a new steering cable if everything looks tight.

Im really leaning towards the rudder being loose and your feeling vibrations threw it traveling up the steering cable.

Go check all the connections at the dash, then check the connections at the steering linkage to the rudder.

Grab the rudder and see if you can shake it. You shouldnt be able to.

This is what i would be looking at more so.

04OUTBACK
06-17-2011, 01:16 PM
Have same issue.
Here are my 2 thoughts..
1. check the connection where the steering cable connects to rudder.. There is a CLEVIS. it bolts onto cable and to rudder arm. Make sure it is tight. i am contemplating replacing mine

2. What prop do you have? I have the OJ 4 Blade 14.25x14 . Am switching to an Acme 1847 this weekend. we'll see how that goes..