PDA

View Full Version : Charging batteries with a VSR

jmvotto
05-24-2011, 09:32 AM
Both my batteries are extremely low and i have a portable dc 120v charger. whats the best way to charge the batteries?

turn VSR to off and charge each one independently.

or turn to 1 or 2 and let them combine and after one is fully charged the other will combine and charge

Ps i can do 2 amp, 10 amp and 15 amp charging slow or deep cycling.

mmandley
05-24-2011, 10:46 AM
Im still learning this system but what i did the other day was put it on combine and connected it to my stereo bank. Im not sure if this charges them all or not but thats how i did it on my Perko switch.

Im sure Dave with Earmark or Al will pop in and know the correct answer lol.

Gottop69
05-24-2011, 10:58 AM
I was thinking of adding a onboard charger you bolt up to the batteries and plug it in when not in use for a trickle charge

lsvboombox
05-24-2011, 11:07 AM
this is from BEP FAQ's

10. Q. How does my battery charger fit into the wiring of the VSR?

A. If using a Dual sense VSR you can connect your battery charger to either bank of batteries. When the charger brings the battery above 13.7 volts the VSR will engage and parallel the second bank. This will happen if you are connected to the start or the house battery.

A. If using a single sense VSR as used on BEP Clusters you can connect the charger to the House battery and this will charge the house bank only. If you connect to the start battery it will charge the start battery first then engage the VSR and charge the house battery.

A. The battery charger can be connected at the battery pos and neg connections.

cab13367
05-24-2011, 12:37 PM
Joe,