PDA

View Full Version : Moomba Noob questions on spares

Replicant
04-19-2011, 02:28 PM
Hello,
Just joined the forum and have a question that I was not able to find in a search. After a lot of research, I finally pulled the trigger on an 07 Outback V with 74 hours on it. I thank this forum for all of the great info that I was able to find which helped my purchase. I am new to Moomba but by no means new to boats of all flavors and types. My question is whether there is a list of must have spares while on the water. Impellar, spark plugs, fuses, fuel filters etc. I absolutely hate being stuck on the water, especially when I know that if I had the right part handy, I could be up and running again.

thanks,

Erik.

deerfield
04-19-2011, 03:33 PM
Erik - The box on my boat includes:

impeller
v belt
fuel filter
hose (fresh water pump to engine block)
assortment of hose clamps

Tools to help me out in a bind on the water:

all-in-one screwdriver
needle nose pliers
roll of duct tape
adjustable wrench
small knife
soft frame goggles (for when you scramble under the boat to unwrap the rope)

I don't carry spare fuses, but sounds like a good idea. Spare spark plugs seem unvessary if they were inspected and/or replaced at start of season.

Congtratulations on the purchase and welcome to the forum. Let's see that new toy. Post pics! - Deerfield

Mikes
04-19-2011, 03:36 PM
The very first thing you need is a knife goggles and an underwater flashlite. At somepoint your ski rope WILL get caught in the prop shaft. And you are stuck dead in the water.

kaneboats
04-19-2011, 04:37 PM
There have been great discussions on this a couple times in the past few years. Try a search on "tool kit". Good luck and welcome aboard!

Replicant
04-19-2011, 09:33 PM