PDA

View Full Version : Locking up while storing boat on the trailer

clark
02-03-2005, 11:59 PM
On all the trailers I have owned, I guess it is the older style, you would lift up on a handle type device, lower the tongue onto the ball, then push the handle device down locking it onto the ball. There was a hole there so I could put a lock thru it. When it was not being used, I had a lock that would slide up inside the tongue and then I would put the lock on the handle device.

I was wondering what type of locks can be used with the BOATMATE trailers that comes with Moombas. I have never used on of these before.

Clark

jburnside
02-04-2005, 10:15 AM
Clark,
I just use a commercial grade "Master Lock" through the hole in the tongue on the starboard side of the trailer. The hole on the Boatmate trailer works the same as the older style trailer handle hole you mentioned. I use the lock when the boat is hitched to my truck or when it's un-hitched. Even if the boat is not hitched to my truck I still push down the top engage mechanism on the trailer then install my lock through the hole I mentioned earlier. By doing that you can't put the trailer down on the hitch ball. There are other devices that can be purchased through places like Overton's that help secure trailers when not attached to tow vehicles, I've just never seen the need to purchase one. I guess we'll probably hear how everyone else does it as well. Should be enlightening.

clark
02-04-2005, 11:04 AM
When glancing at the trailer tongue, it just looked so different from the one I am used to, I never saw a place to insert a lock.

Thanks,
Clark

smokedog2
02-05-2005, 05:29 PM
http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jhtml;jsessionid=K12UNFGWT3SBVTQSNOISCN4OCJVZ IIWE?id=0001921012240a&type=product&cmCat=froogle& cm_ven=froogle&cm_cat=data_feed&cm_ite=various&rid =7510101020603&_requestid=18477

I could not find the one I own. I like it because it is not that noticeable.