PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on boat issue

TL7
03-06-2011, 10:51 PM
We have a 2010 LSV that has had some type of intermittent electrical issue. It's been in the shop 3 times, and the issue just happened again today. Tomorrow will be the 4th time taking it to the dealer, which is 1 hour away.

The dealer has been great and is trying everything they can to try and fix. I work in manufacturing for downhole oilfield tools (many complex PCB boards, circuits, wiring, etc), so I understand how frustrating it is to try and fix an intermittent problem that cannot be duplicated. It's like chasing a ghost. I get this and understand this, and my gripe is not with the dealer, because I know they don't want to see my boat anymore than I want to take it to them.

The question is at what point do I say enough is enough, and when that point gets here (if it's not already), how do I approach it? I don't want ill will to happen to the dealer, because this is an issue from the factory and they just get stuck trying to troubleshoot and fix. However, I'm to the point where it's either fixed or lets move on to the next solution. I paid too much money to have to worry about whether or not the boat is going to die out all day long when out with friends and family.

This is my second Moomba (2007 Outback was first), and I still think they are great boats. I'm just really frustrated and want to enjoy my boat on the weekends, not be concerned with issues. I deal with that enough during the work week.