PDA

View Full Version : Most Important Head Unit Features

kaneboats
01-31-2011, 02:15 PM
OK, I'm a newb for the most part on these setups. I'm trying to slowly make some changes. For now I'm staying with one battery as I run almost all the time when the stereo is on-- if we sit it's usually for 20 min. or less. But, I'm running a 5 channel Infinity amp for in-boat and my little sub. No changes there this year. It's adequate for now. I want to switch to some better tower speakers and run the amp I have now (zx250.2) but maybe something just a little bigger before too long.

As I have been reading all the stuff on here I have started questioning my head unit. Right now I have the stock KDC MP2035 one. It only has one pair of pre-amp outs. They are split to the two amps.

I also have an older KDC MPV7019 available. It has 3 sets of preamp outs but says the preamp voltage is 1.8 volts. So my question is if it is worth bothering to change to this older unit for the extra outs or it it's kind of a waste of time and time to look for a new one. This is keeping in mind that I am not changing much else from above for this season. Neither HU has a USB connection but both should work with my wired remote and IPOD connector cable.

Also, in a head unit, what do you see as the most important considerations? Thanks for all your thoughts.

EarmarkMarine
01-31-2011, 02:46 PM
Kaneboats,
So many boaters are now using their source unit as a pass-thru for their ipod and little else. So based on that I would identify ipod connectivity as you already have. Second, would be a strong preamp section.
Any changer or satellite radio ready source unit is going to facilitate a direct and clean ipod connection. The important issue is not what you convert to but the fact that you are exiting out of the iphone/ipod's bottom port for a clean preout signal rather than out the top headphone jack.