PDA

View Full Version : ocean surfing

DOCDRS
11-23-2010, 07:57 PM
Down in CostaRica and tried the real thing yesterday.....definitely harder than wakesurfing and wow talk about having to paddle my arms off tocatch the wave.....thank god you dont have to paddle to catch the boat wake :)

Mikey
11-23-2010, 10:10 PM
Also depends on the size of board and wave size as well.Years ago on honeymoon went to Hawaii and got a monster board,because i was a novice. Could not get up or catch a wave for the life of me. Next day asked for a medium sized board,also much lighter and with comparable waves i was able to get up and ride a few waves.
The big board was stable but a monster,the smaller board was good and stable enough with a little balance and with practice a small light board would be a lot of fun i think.

maxpower220
11-23-2010, 11:34 PM
I took up surfing when I was stationed in San Diego. Bought a 8'6" board and went a few times a week. I even took a lesson to get started. After about a year, I still suck! It is a workout, so that was good. It really took a lot for me to go out in 58 degree water, but as I sat on my board in the morning before work, occasionally the BUDS (Navy Seals) guys would swim by on their 5 mile morning swim and I didn't feel so cold.
While I can get up and ride waves up to about 5', I am limited on an skill. After years of wakeboarding and snowboarding, I thought I would pick it up pretty quick. No dice.

One morning when riding with friends from work, I dropped in on a nice large wave and proceeded to get crushed. It felt like 30 seconds underwater, probably a real 15 sec, that really took some confidence away.

BensonWdby
11-24-2010, 12:24 AM
Where in Costa Rica? We spent a week in Tamarindo a few years ago... Tried surfing - never cught a wave. But my son sort of figured it out... A lot of waiting - both to recover from the paddle and for the right wave.

you da man
11-24-2010, 12:27 AM