PDA

View Full Version : Only draining the water from block to winterize

dru1974
10-28-2010, 07:21 PM
So I never had time to winterized my boat and took it to the local guy that does most of the boats around here... I asked him if he puts antifreeze in the block and he didn't just drains it? How is it possible. Never heard of this I said and his retort was.."I have been doing this for 35 years". Does this sound rite?

dru1974
10-28-2010, 07:23 PM
Oh and they changed the oil fogged the engine and added stabile to the fuel.

Razzman
10-28-2010, 07:44 PM
That's how i've been doing for years as well and as most do too. Think about it, if there's no water to freeze then why anti-freeze? It's not a closed cooling system so the anti-freeze is going to puddle in the low spots only leaving the rest just as if drained. If it's not a closed system the water/anti-freeze won't stay put, it'll just run to all the openings and run to the next low spot. So the heads, upper block and exhaust manifolds won't have much if anything there anyway. Anti-freeze is to keep water from freezing but won't do squat for metal. You really want to protect that then get a block heater.

cab13367
10-28-2010, 08:09 PM
So I never had time to winterized my boat and took it to the local guy that does most of the boats around here... I asked him if he puts antifreeze in the block and he didn't just drains it? How is it possible. Never heard of this I said and his retort was.."I have been doing this for 35 years". Does this sound rite?

What Razzman said :)

Oh and they changed the oil fogged the engine and added stabile to the fuel.

Wow. Do it yourself next year and buy yourself a new wakeboard with the money you save.

dru1974
10-28-2010, 08:28 PM
I read the malibu monsoon winterizing thread and I looked and it doesn't look like they drained the water pump. But I know if ther is no water no ice just hope they got it all out.

DOCDRS
10-28-2010, 08:42 PM