PDA

View Full Version : New component wiring questions??

Bigbopper
10-16-2010, 11:08 AM
Hi everyone, newbie here, this is a great site!

Just upgrading the stereo in my 05 Mobius LSV and looking for some advice.

Here's what I have to work with:

Kenwood KMR330 head unit
JBL MA6004 4 channel amp
6 Polk DB651 speakers.

Since I need to drive 6 speakers, but only have a 4 channel amp, I'm wondering the best way to do this.
I know the left and right rear speakers are run together from the factory but that seems cheesy to me.
Would I be best to run the 4 rear speakers off the amp and the 2 bow speakers off the head unit? Or is there a better way to maximize sound quality with what I have?

Thanks for any help,
BB

sandm
10-16-2010, 11:11 AM
there are several different ways to run that. if it was mine, I'd probably run the bow of 2 channels, then run the 4 cabins off the other 2 channels.

I'm sure that earmark will chime in soon..

Razzman
10-16-2010, 11:32 AM
What sandm said. It sounds like that's how they're run now. That's a common practice that most use to do that, but to be a little more specific run the four cabins in parallel off two channels. In other words run the port two speakers to the left channel + & - and the starboard two speakers to the right channel + & -. Just twist the pairs (+&+, -&-) together and connect at the amp.

You could run the bows off the head unit as you mentioned and the four cabins to each channel but the bows would be underpowered and really un-noticeable, it all depends on what you want.

Brianinpdx
10-16-2010, 11:45 AM
Mr big - welcome to the forums.