PDA

View Full Version : New Member, New boat.... maybe

Nebster
09-05-2010, 10:48 AM
hey guys,

Thought i'd introduce myself. I am a engineer from chicago ish area (plainfield) and am looking into a moomba xlv. I have been away from the water for so long that now that i am somewhat successful i have decided to make a boat purchase. I do have a couple of questions though.

1. is my boat even going to fit in my garage?

24 foot deep, 7 foot door, full 2.5 car garage. I'm worried about height, not necessarily depth because i can angle it.

2. How is the XLV for wake surfing. This is something i definately want to get into.

3. what are the best aftermarket mods that people do. Things on my list are for sure the following:
a. lights, i love night boarding, it is a must for choppy rivers / lakes
b. hot shower, i want to be able to get the most out of my boat
c. upgraded stereo

4. thanks for all the info, i've been searching around a lot and you guys are a wealth of knowledge, i look forward to getting to know you all.

DOCDRS
09-05-2010, 11:05 AM
welcome to the forum...........

height may all depend on which tower you get, I know my 09 21v with the tower folded will still not clear my garage door. the new towers may fold down with a lower head height you should go to a dealer and check it out yourself , unless someone else on here can give ya their exact measure which I'm sure will pop up , for surfing you will want to upgrade to the 1100 lb bag

Nebster
09-05-2010, 11:09 AM
sounds good, its got the factory gravity III balast but yeah i'll upgrade for sure. at least on the back. With that and the wake plate it should throw out a huge wake.

Hopefully i can get some measurements. The dealer is 2 hours away and i don't really want to make a unnecessary trip but i may have to.

wolfeman131
09-05-2010, 11:24 PM
welcome and hope you get it all worked out.

check out what "you da man" has done with sacking out his XLV.

deafgoose
09-05-2010, 11:36 PM