PDA

View Full Version : OUCH this hurts

jester
08-23-2010, 12:16 AM
Well I was out wakeboarding today and just started my first run when I crashed hard. Then after I crashed my sister decided to follow in my foot steps. Right now my arm, side and ribs are brused. Great way to start off the day. I was a little gun shy after that. Ruff edit on video so i could get it posted tonight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-M0jioj7uvk

deafgoose
08-23-2010, 01:53 AM
Sweet crash. lol

How long have you been wakeboarding?

You get on edge so hard and give it up at the wake so you loose all that pop. Next time you get out, try a professive edge. Slowly increase the edge and make sure the hardest edge is at the wake. You will be surprised how effortless jumping can really be!

jester
08-23-2010, 10:51 AM
deafgoose, Thanks for the advice. I will try that next time. I have been wakeboarding for about 5 years off and on but keep getting major setbacks with injurys. After I messed up my ankle I was gun shy for two years. One of the things about not being able to walk really makes me mad.

08-23-2010, 11:39 AM
Yes, I agree with deaf. Both of you are starting your cut VERY hard at the beginning like you are coming in for an Air Raley and then at the last second you flatten out the board and jump it more like a snowboard. With this method you are coming in with way more speed then you need and no pop so it's the speed that carries you wake to wake.

Follow deaf's advice and you will find it much much easier to go w2w. Start out SLOW, and as you edge in continue to cut harder ad harder till you hit the wake. Think about showing the bottom of your board to the people in the boat AS you hit the wake. Its not the speed that will carry you across now it's the pop. With proper techniqu it's easy to go w2w from only 6 feet away from the wake.

Good luck.

RobertJ
08-23-2010, 11:40 AM
Nice vid, Jester where were you riding? We went to Green Peter this weekend and had a blast.

jester