PDA

View Full Version : Voltage Low - - HELP!

Lakeside09
07-08-2010, 09:30 AM
Ok I had posted a similar question to this in another thread but I believe it would be better served here with a better question...

I have a 97' Moomba Boomerang... the Voltage meter is reading very low right at 12 or below... so when I idle down it doesn't produce enough voltage and it dies... Medium to top end runs perfect.

I have put in a new coil... had the alternator checked... nothing at all wrong with the alternator, it's perfect...

I just had a new CD player installed and I was wondering if that could have anything to do with it?.... This never happened before the cd player was installed... or is there something else I need to be looking for?

PLEASE HELP!

MartinCaron
07-08-2010, 10:38 AM
it is clear that the alternator produce less than the system demand at idle so start disconecting things while looking at the voltmeter and you should be able to find the over consuming component.

MartinCaron
07-08-2010, 10:40 AM
start by disconecting the amp(s) form the battery pole...

Lakeside09
07-08-2010, 10:47 AM
Can you please be a little more elaborate? I am not sure what the amps are from the battery pole? I am very clueless at this sort of thing... :confused:

Lakeside09
07-08-2010, 11:00 AM
If you are referring to an audio amp for a sub... it doesn't have one.

MartinCaron
07-08-2010, 11:31 AM
amp = amplifier

Your sound system must be wired from the battery whit a big wire with a fuse on it. If you can find this wire, disconect it from the pole so it is offline...
Run the boat and see if your alternator is now pulling enough power to maintain the ilde.

MartinCaron
07-08-2010, 11:32 AM
oh... no amplifier, so i guess no big wire...

Just unplug the Head unit then...

MartinCaron
07-08-2010, 11:36 AM
Are you realy sure the alternator is top shape? A weak alterator can produce 20 amp at 2500 rpm an drop under 10 amp at idle... The engine need 16 amp to run if i remember...