PDA

View Full Version : Chances you'd buy a boat without a tower?

pullin
06-06-2010, 04:58 PM
Hello all, newbie here.

I'm a certified "old guy" who's been using his 2001 Moomba Kanga for waterskiing for the past decade. My kids use it for boarding and the occasional footing run. I'm curious how likely you would be to buy a used boat without a tower. I'm thinking of selling it, and am curious how much of a deal-breaker a tower is for the serious wakeboarder.

FWIW: On the plus side, it'll come to the new owner with a Skylon, Boom, Boards/Skis/Skate/ropes/Sacks/etc., tandem trailer, and in good shape (garaged). On the minus side, it's got 560 hours, no tower, factory sound system, and it's a closed bow. (Thinking of asking 10,500 for the whole package).

I bought it mainly to ski, but it seems like more folks want to wakeboard nowadays.
Any and all replies appreciated, I'm just trying to get a feel for whether folks would settle for a Skylon .vs. tower when looking for a wakeboard boat.

pic here: http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a162/rbp2/Boat007.jpg

Razzman
06-06-2010, 05:04 PM
For a serious wakeboarder a tower is a must have. however people will but without and add a tower. For a baseline price of value check NADA online.

zabooda
06-06-2010, 05:07 PM
Very nice boat. I would price to sell as someone who only skis may pick up on it. I would leave the tower off as the next person could pick what they want and perhaps discount the boat some to offset their cost. The towers vary in looks and cost so I would leave that up to the next person.

pullin
06-06-2010, 05:13 PM
For a serious wakeboarder a tower is a must have. however people will but without and add a tower. For a baseline price of value check NADA online.

Thanks Razzman. I checked with NADA and I'm within $250 of their estimate (average retail).

maxpower220
06-06-2010, 05:41 PM
I doubt you would get any return on a tower by installing to sell. The extended pylon would cover that.