PDA

View Full Version : 2000 Moomba Mobius

asil210
05-23-2010, 07:55 PM
I have a 2000 Moomba with 675 hrs. It has sat for 2 years and I am buying it from my brother. had a hole in hull repaired and gelcoat on various marks, prop re-worked and I have changed oil/filter (all synthetic), put in new sparkplugs, cleaned of the distributor button and cap.

want to replace the shaft packing....what size should the packing be?

I have put in water twice and twice it has died... had about 10 gallons of 2yrold gas I added 15 new and a gas treatment before the new gas.

what else should I look at doing (besides getting a new boat) to "revive" this boat? i am new to owning a boat so any info is helpful...Is there any place to download the engine manual. any info is appreciated.

I want to trust this boat but having a hard time getting there.....

moombadaze
05-23-2010, 08:49 PM
Starting point--get all the that old gas out of the tank ,it may need the carb rebuilt due to varnish buildup from sitting

discribe more in detail how it died.

asil210
05-23-2010, 09:09 PM
engine will ROUGH idle then just peter out. after what i have done put it on the water today let it idol and seemed ok. felt good enough to take out of no wake zone....opened her up and after about 30 sec. boat began a sputtering then choking quick death...cannot start now.

kaneboats
05-23-2010, 10:41 PM
Hope you told your brother that you subtract what you spend each month out of the payment till it's running right. Still, this is a good model. In a few weeks she'll be running like a top and you'll be very happy. Clean out the old gas and change the fuel filter right away. Good luck!

asil210
05-24-2010, 07:35 PM
LOL, actually it is something like that...we agreed on a price but I am subtracting these costs and we will see where we are then...don't you think you can give some more things to "subtract" ROFL.