PDA

View Full Version : white smoke out exhaust....any worries?

polar21
05-03-2010, 02:57 PM
Had some white smoke come out of the exhaust from the boat on Sunday. It was weird conditions with thick fog, not very sunny, and pretty windy. My gut tells me white smoke isnt that big of a deal, but just wanted to make sure. I know blue smoke and black smoke are bad....

dru1974
05-03-2010, 03:15 PM
I am not a mechanic, but black smoke means your to rich, blue and your valves or rings are week and white is not usually that good.
I hope its not a problem for ya

stretch55
05-03-2010, 03:21 PM
Had some white smoke come out of the exhaust from the boat on Sunday. It was weird conditions with thick fog, not very sunny, and pretty windy. My gut tells me white smoke isnt that big of a deal, but just wanted to make sure. I know blue smoke and black smoke are bad....

White like the white that comes out of your car exhaust? Thats normal. My boat does it to.

Razzman
05-03-2010, 03:40 PM
Was this your first time out this season? Did you have it winterized and stored? How long did it last, a few monoents? If all the above apply it was probably just burning off the fogging oil from winterization. If not then it may be something more serious.

I fired mine up in the driveway and smoked the neighborhood out for a few minutes on Saturday! :p

Mikes
05-03-2010, 04:08 PM
It may be steam did you check the temp. gauge?

polar21
05-03-2010, 04:25 PM
This was not the first time we have taken it out this season and the temp gauge was reading normal (175). There was alot (and I mean ALOT) of moisture in the air. If you have ever felt humidity in Florida, then you know what I am talking about. It only did this starting off, ie pulling the skier out of the water. After that, everything was normal.

And yes, it looked like the white smoke that comes out of your car.

stretch55
05-03-2010, 04:36 PM