PDA

View Full Version : Wiring the Heater Switch

cab13367
04-07-2010, 02:59 PM
In csmsk's excellent heater install write up, he writes,

"Also, I didn't use the three speed control switch that came with the kit. I had a two way rocker switch in the dash that I wasn't using, so I hooked the heater to that. Now I only have control of "high" and "medium" speed. I thought that if I needed the "slow" speed, I didn't really need it on at all!"

I am finally installing a heater in my boat (parts are arriving today) and would like to do exactly the same as Chris did above. I am not very good with wiring so could someone please explain in detail how to wire the heater to the two way rocker switch on the dash, including telling me exactly which wire to attach to which spade on the back of the switch.

Chris, are you out there??

Thanks,

Al

jester
04-07-2010, 03:37 PM
Al,

Can you post some photo's of the switch you have or what type of switch it is. Also can you post the wires you have for the heater.

kaneboats
04-07-2010, 10:34 PM
In csmsk's excellent heater install write up, he writes . . .
Chris, are you out there??

He hasn't been around in a while. He's one of the guys we miss b/c he had so much quality info to add all the time. Hopefully as the season gets going he'll be back on here. You might send him a PM to see if you can jump-start him. :)

cab13367
04-08-2010, 12:45 AM
Al,

Can you post some photo's of the switch you have or what type of switch it is. Also can you post the wires you have for the heater.

I got the kit today and the switch plate is much smaller than it appeared in the pics so I have found a convenient place to mount it. I won't be using the spare switch on the dash after all. Thanks anyway.

He hasn't been around in a while. He's one of the guys we miss b/c he had so much quality info to add all the time. Hopefully as the season gets going he'll be back on here. You might send him a PM to see if you can jump-start him. :)