PDA

View Full Version : depth finder

LyndonH Dubai
04-07-2010, 04:13 AM
hello
i have a Moomba 2004 XLV gravity games edition but it has no depth finder??
does anyone know if you can fit depth finders to these boats without having to drill the hull etc
my old chapparal in the uk had a depth finder fitted to it which was just like an aerial under the dash which i dont think needed any sensors or drilling etc?
i dont want to pay a fortune, but the place here in dubai we use the boat can be really shallow and we have beached it twice already!!

mcdye
04-07-2010, 08:23 AM
That should be an easy add on. Mine came stock, there was no hull drilling required for it. It appears to be an ultrasound type sensor that is glued to the hull by the vdrive and a gauge mounted in the dash area.

moombadaze
04-07-2010, 08:41 AM
just added one myself-readout gauge went in the dash and the transducer glues down in the bottom of the boat by the Vdrive unit, hook up power and ground. No holes drilled. I used hummin bird brand.

kaneboats
04-07-2010, 09:28 AM
It's one of those items you don't really think about till you have a boat that has one -- then you can't live without it!

vandy654
04-07-2010, 12:35 PM
Mcdye or Moombadaze, could you send me a picture of where your transducer is glued down? I ordered a Hawkeye, and having issues finding a place where the transducer works glued in the hull. Thanks! 02 OB LSV

pickle311
04-07-2010, 04:21 PM
My last Moomba had the Hawkeye and I glued the transducer down near the motor. I just found a good clear spot and stuck it there. A good way to test for a mounting location is to have the boat in the water with the depth finder installed. Put the transducer in a ziplock bag full of water and put it in the hull. Move it around until you get a reading in a spot that's easy to mount.