PDA

View Full Version : Water Temp and getting wet

Moseley618
03-14-2010, 04:39 PM
This is my first year with water sports. So, I want to know what water and air temp do you guys use as a guide to get in? What temp do you wear wet suit full vs shorty? Then when do you just get in with just shorts?

Thanks

Kevin
PS I am super pumped, I can't watch anymore videos or read anymore post just want to get on the water! Come on Spring!

Moseley618
03-14-2010, 05:20 PM
Thanks Ed, that gives me a great starting point.

Mikey
03-14-2010, 05:39 PM
There is a chart with suggested options using water and air temps combined to help you decide what should be appropriate. Unfortunetely i can't remember were to find . Maybe someone can help out on this.
As for myself and lots of us Northerners,usually as soon as the ice is off Drysuits and as water warms,any thing above about 60 for me a wetsuit and 68 and over its no suit. Any water warmer than that is a BONUS,with 80 being about the warmest we encounter in our usuall travels. That requires some travel south for us just to get that.
Anyway look for a chart or go on a wetsuit website possibly for more suggestions.

Lawdog
03-14-2010, 05:42 PM
Alot of people follow the 100 rule...The water temp plus the air temp equals 100 or more. Example would be 50 degree water temp plus 50 degree air temp equals 100. It's all about preference though. I personally wear a full wet suit when the water is in the upper 40's and one of my buddies only wears his board shorts. I dont know how he does it. Good luck and have fun this season.

skiyaker
03-14-2010, 07:46 PM
good point about personal preference; at 55-65 I'll wear a full length suit; 65-70 I'll wear a short suit unless the air is 70+ and then I'll trunk it. I have a friend who trunks it in anything 55+ but he's half nuts.