PDA

View Full Version : Top rail protection?

pjw
02-28-2010, 09:36 PM
I have an LSV-the local Moomba dealer here is know offering a product to prevent scrathes and dings from both the tower resting on the top rail (terrible design) and from grit on feet when getting into the boat. The product is a clear plastic like material that is 3 mills thick and is applied along the top rail and other places where dings occur. Its a scotch guard product. i was considering the seadeck material but now i am considering having them install this clear plastic on my top rail as its clear. The cost is about $300 for the entire rail plus above the transom deck. Anyone out there have any experience with this type of product?-- I live in North Dakota and its time to think about spring!

kaneboats
02-28-2010, 09:52 PM
I haven't heard of it but I know you can get a lot of scratches topside.

pjw
02-28-2010, 09:55 PM
my lsv is only about 6 months old so for me another $300 on a $50k boat is quite reasonable, if it works!

kaneboats
02-28-2010, 09:58 PM
How about asking the dealer for the names of customers who have had it installed? You can ask them how they like it.

Hydrofoiljunky
02-28-2010, 10:11 PM
First thing I did on my new boat was put Gator pad on areas inside boat as well as the areas you desscribed. I plan to buy some of this and hit the transom.

http://www.keelshield.com/transom-shield.html

Sled491
02-28-2010, 10:20 PM
Depending on tech advances the stuff worked good, but if you damaged the film it looked like crap in a short period of time. Of course the advantage is that when you peel it off after a few years your rails should look almost new again. If the new products are more durable than the previous versions your right 300 hun on a 50k purchase is a smart move

newty
02-28-2010, 10:25 PM
Its 3M vinyl with a adhesive backing and its clear. You could buy a whole roll of 4x20 for $100. Look around online you see what I'm talking about.