PDA

View Full Version : center fin on boards?

gus 08 mobius lsv
02-01-2010, 09:49 PM
ok i'm still a beginner on the board but wanna advance to try moderate tricks ...nothing too crazy though. when it comes to landing a jump or trick am i gonna want to have a center fin on my board to give me stability or is it gonna hurt me?

wake08
02-01-2010, 09:57 PM
Gus, the center fins are definitely not needed to do anything advanced. In my opinion they just create bad habits that can get you hurt if not careful. Anybody that is learning to ride i make them ride without fins so that they can properly learn to edge.

gus 08 mobius lsv
02-01-2010, 10:10 PM
Gus, the center fins are definitely not needed to do anything advanced. In my opinion they just create bad habits that can get you hurt if not careful. Anybody that is learning to ride i make them ride without fins so that they can properly learn to edge.

ok got ya. see all the beginner or beginner/intermediate boards have the center fin so i was curious about that. i just got a hyperlite forefront at the boat show for a deal i couldn't pass up and it didn't have the center fin so i just wanted to make sure i give myself a fair chance to land jumps and tricks.
where in cbus you go boating? alum creek?

brain_rinse
02-01-2010, 10:15 PM
I agree they lead to bad habits. They let you steer by pointing instead of edging, which is OK if you're just getting comfortable being behind the boat but not good practice long term.

Hillbilly
02-01-2010, 10:51 PM
Before you ditch the center fin altogether try and find a smaller fin. I agree with learning to edge correctly but I also see a lot of advanced and higher riders using center fins. It is all personal preference, I would hate for you to get rid of the fin and hate the board. And I've seen many people take nasty wrecks trying to learn without center fins. But again just my opinion....

Limishowman3
02-04-2010, 08:11 PM